Hurricane Sandy

Everyone sing along to the tune of John Denver’s “Country Roads”:

Almost frozen, in West Virginia,
Hurricane Sandy is dropping all her water.
Wet and cloudy, I still can't see the sky,
I wanted warmer weather, there are tear drops in my eye!
..........

Well, as usual, things are crazy on the road and this time we have the Frankenstorm to thank.  We left Ohio with the hope of getting far enough south and west to avoid any storm delays and we made it to a little burg in West Virginia called Beckley.  This is a small town with all of the hotels on an exit we happened to a.) not know about and b.) missed by 20 miles.  After driving in the rain all day we decided to hit a hotel since it was late and we both did not want to set up camp in the rain and dark. After we missed the exit where all the hotels were we saw a place off the highway and stopped in to get a room, of course they were totally booked and even if they were not the rooms were about $200 a night, WAY over our budget. The guy at the counter told us about a MicroHotel one exit back so we high-tailed it back and found the hotel and checked in hoping for a one night stay.

Unfortunately this place is not pet friendly so the buns and the dog are in the truck.  We have Zoe in the cab with her bed and two extra blankets to nest in, with food and water.  The buns are in the bed of the truck. We set them up with extra blankets and plenty of food, water and lots of extra hay.  I wrapped all of the cages with a tarp to help insulate the little guys and closed the venting to stop the wind from getting to them. The cages are also insulated above and below with blankets, I’ll add a pic of the set up when I thaw enough to go back out and get a shot. I’ve been out to check on the kids twice since we got up and they are all doing fine (if not a bit pissed that we aren’t in the warmth and they can’t get out and play!)

Zoe and I took a nice walk in the cold and snow and she was VERY animated, I’m pretty sure it was having me as company and seeing new stuff.  Something I didn’t know about her is she is a car chaser.  Living on my street in Kanab we didn’t get a lot of traffic and Zoe spent most of her time in the back yard so she didn’t see many cars driving fast, walking her down a busy street here she was VERY interested in the trucks and cars passing us so I had to be extra vigilant to keep her out of the street and safe, wasn’t a big deal just something I hadn’t seen in our 10 years in Utah.

The buns are taking this all in stride, Bogie was just munching on his hay and new willow wreath (well almost new as his only choice in chew toys is a willow wreath and he has done a good job of eating all the leaves off of it and has managed to make in into a willow twist instead of a wreath).  Zsolt and Halle are chomping on the toy Phyllis gave them and are also munching hay.  Halle came out of the cage as I was setting them up to weather the storm and gave me a nuzzle, almost like she was saying that she knew the storm wasn’t my fault but PLEASE hurry and get us all the heck outta here.  Zsolt let me cuddle him a bit but is also ready to head to warmer weather.

Joey Bishop is cuddling Angie but is still giving me that “What the hell…” look but he also came out of his cage to say it’s alright.  Doc was lucky yesterday when we were driving here in the rain as he was sitting in Debby’s lap for at least 2 hours, just enjoying the warmth and Debby’s calming pets.  He is just going with the flow and was happy to get a new batch of hay.

All in all this sucks but we all have a warm and dry place to stay through tonight and we will see how much snow Sandy drops before we decide if we can get back on the road and head south to warm weather and calm waters. I’ll post later today about the Mid-West BunFest, it was a great time!

Chat soon with pics!

Victor

Leave a comment